Dai making and setting up for competition level shavings

shawn M
Lurker

Dai making and setting up for competition level shavings

Tue Sep 29, 2015 11:57 pm

This is my first topic to start on the forums. Ive been lurking quite a bit and have enjoyed a lot of the posts. I look forward to posting more and getting to know you guys.

Ive been working with a company called takumi for the past 3 1/2 years and have put a lot of miles on my kanna.
I am always fine tuning and lately have been thinking about all those really really thin shavings those guys in Japan are doing.
I have a friend working as a carpenter in Japan and we were just talking about how these guys at kezeroukai are getting 2.5 micron shavings.
A few things I found out were
1- They are using laminated dai.
2- The bed of the dai has a layer of epoxy which conforms to the back of the kanna perfectly. I just tried this on some of my loose dai and it worked great! no more annoying paper shims. I cant imagine getting a better fit.

Anyway just wondering if anyone has tried to go competition thin and has anything to add regarding little tips and tricks?

I know a lot has to do with sharpening. Ive been speaking with So-san about getting a really nice stone that could get me to super thin levels.
Last edited by shawn M on Wed Sep 30, 2015 11:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
durbien
Sweeper of Floors, Maker of Tea

Re: Dai making and setting up for competition level shavings

Wed Sep 30, 2015 12:35 am

Is this like epoxy for bedding rifle barrels? I seem to remember someone else (Krenov?) recommending using bedding compounds to ensure 100% contact, but somehow didn't make the leap to Japanese kanna setup. Come to think of it, the traditional ink/graphite transfer fitting is very similar to the luthier's method of "chalk" fitting braces and cauls to the interior of violin plates and such..
Brian
Deshi

Wed Sep 30, 2015 1:30 pm