Hitachi CB75F bandsaw

If it has an electrical cord it is covered here.
tuzserhu
Lurker

Hitachi CB75F bandsaw

Tue Feb 17, 2015 12:17 pm

MachineryMax.com

Hitachi CB75F bandsaw
durbien
Sweeper of Floors, Maker of Tea

Re: Hitachi CB75F bandsaw

Tue Feb 17, 2015 5:32 pm

Table's pretty rusty - how hard is that to remove/repair? I have no experience refabbing old machines.

There's a Delta 14" for $100 on that site too - is that a "good one"? I'm in SoCal and was eyeing Lagunas; this would be 1/10th the price, but I'm wary of money pits.
tuzserhu
Lurker

Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:50 pm

surface rust is easy to remove I would not worry about it
there seems to be rust on the blade so I would be curious to see the rubber on the wheels
does not look bad and for the price you can not beat it.
Chris Hall
Site Admin

Tue Feb 17, 2015 10:35 pm

A personal note: would never patronize Laguna for any products whatsoever from now until the end of time.
durbien

Wed Feb 18, 2015 6:20 am

Can you tell us how your own CB75F conversion has held up over the years? Was it worth all the hassles with the motor, guides, etc.? Did it perform as you'd expected, or do you think you could've gotten similar work done with a "normal" bandsaw?

BTW, I'm also fairly close to Eagle Tool (INCA, Agazzani). Are they preferable?
Chris Hall
Site Admin

Wed Feb 18, 2015 10:14 am

I've heard Agazanni bandsaws are decent. Italian stuff is good for the most part, but not quite as good as the German stuff. A Zimmermann BZ800 bandsaw would be a machine I would look at, though you'd have to import it yourself. There are plenty of used ones available in Germany.