Drilling, Sawing, Filing

Here's a place for forum members to share pictures of their recent work outside of the study group projects.
SteveM
Raw Log Import

Drilling, Sawing, Filing

Sat Feb 06, 2016 5:22 pm

Hello All,

I'm new here, and thought I'd better post something soon before Chris revokes my membership for not doing so :) .

I've been a woodworker using Japanese tools for a long time, a member of other Japanese woodwork forums (I use the name Sheets) and used to leave comments on The Carpentry Way blog, until its seemed that to do so required selling my soul to Google (lately it seems that Anonymous means don't bother - my comments never got submitted. That isn't Chris' fault, the software just seemed to eat my comments and never pass them on for approval). No problem, I still read the blog regularly.

I've moved away somewhat from woodworking, though not totally, my focus the last little while has been on metalwork -ala Japanese sword arts (Chris knows having also studied with Ford Hallam).

Latest effort (a tsuba):
IMG_0583.jpg
IMG_0583.jpg (121.04 KiB) Viewed 6947 times
The scribed lines defined by chisel (kebori tagane - new terms for the glossary, Chris?) before cutting out the negative parts to leave a positive silhouette (the drill, saw, file part).

Most of my late woodworking relates to the Japanese sword rebuilding the hilt (tsuka), as here:
06.JPG
06.JPG (356.89 KiB) Viewed 6947 times
Glad to be here,

Steve

Ps., may I just say a collective, "nice work" to all the members who have shown their projects.
Brian
Deshi

Re: Drilling, Sawing, Filing

Sat Feb 06, 2016 6:33 pm

Awesome! Thanks for posting up your work, I am enjoying!
dmccurtis
Sweeper of Floors, Maker of Tea

Sun Feb 07, 2016 12:02 am

Lovely work. Interesting kanna – the mouths look quite close to the middle of the dai.
SteveM
Raw Log Import

Sun Feb 07, 2016 1:31 pm

dmccurtis wrote:Lovely work. Interesting kanna – the mouths look quite close to the middle of the dai.