Stretcher to Post Joinery

What's on your mind?
Chris Hall
Site Admin

Stretcher to Post Joinery

Sat Jan 23, 2016 2:24 pm

A request was made to talk about the joinery options and detailing for connections between post and stretcher. As I started drawing, I reflected that this is a slightly involved topic, and not something I think can be explained all that well in brief. That said, I don't feel like spending the rest of the day on this either, so instead, I'll chip away at it and people can throw in comments or heckles as they see fit.

I think the following drawing outlines the main conditions where we have to devise joinery between stretcher and post. The post section is 'a', the stretcher section is rectangular, measuring 0.33a x a:
Nuki meets post 2.jpg
Nuki meets post 2.jpg (216.82 KiB) Viewed 8446 times
I have centered the stretcher on the post face in each case.

At the bottom, we have the stretcher terminate at the post, though it can also pass completely through the posts and continue to some extent. The main thing is that it does not connect to further structural members beyond the post. It could also connect to the top or bottom post end.

In the middle we have a stretcher which meets the post and passes though, connecting to other structural members beyond in each direction. The stretcher itself can be one-piece as it passes through the post, or it can be two-piece, each of which joins to the other inside of the post. One could also have the end of the stretcher splice continue beyond the bounds of the post if desired.