General 3D Sketches and Computer Software

The place to discuss developed drawing study other than what is covered in the mailings.
Baruch
Lurker

General 3D Sketches and Computer Software

Thu Jul 16, 2015 2:29 am

Hi,

I've just joined the group and have a couple of general questions. I haven't purchased the books yet, so the questions may be covered in the books. For the time being, I've noticed a few computer generated sketches. What program do you use to generate these?

As an Engineer, my education and profession gravitated me towards Autocad, but I haven't used it in over 20 years. I've spend the last 20 years as a Systems Engineer, writing system requirements, decomposing them, writing verification and validation requirements and methods. So I haven't done any modeling in a long time. In school I also used a very simple 2D program before Microsoft bought them, and which I still use--Visio. It's great for 2D sketches but lacks the capability of 3D modeling.

Are there any other modeling software packages, special paper to aid me in 3D modeling sketches, etc. that you can recommend? I would really appreciate the help.

Thanks, Baruch
Chris Hall
Site Admin

Re: General 3D Sketches and Computer Software

Thu Jul 16, 2015 8:08 am

Hello Baruch, and welcome to the CW forum!

I've been using a software for many years now called Sketchup, which used to be a Google product but is now owned by Trimble. I've illustrated the first 5 volumes of TAJCD with that software. Here's the link to their site:

http://www.sketchup.com/

If you are somewhat accustomed to Autocad, Sketchup (SU) will be a bit different as it does not work on the basis of commands. That said it is a lot less complicated than Autocad and fairly intuitive to learn - make sure you have a mouse with a scroll wheel. There are also a ton of videos on Youtube to help you learn any aspect.