Set-up tools (Dial Indicator, etc)

Straightedges, rules, squares, sumitsubo, sashigane - those items we employ when 'putting the lines on the wood'
Chris Pyle
Deshi

Set-up tools (Dial Indicator, etc)

Fri Jul 18, 2014 6:08 pm

I'm in the process of putting my little INCA jointer/planer back together and I need a dial indicator to measure everything. Does anyone have a suggestion?

I was this one today while browsing:

http://www.woodcraft.com/product/202057 ... e-kit.aspx

It looks like it'd fit the bill but I know so little about all of this that I wanted to appeal to those who've been around this block.

Along that same line, anyone have other suggestions or links for getting everything set-up true? I've never done this before but I want to keep the momentum building as I've been getting things set-up for a tiny shop in our sunporch.
Chris Hall
Site Admin

Re: Set-up tools (Dial Indicator, etc)

Fri Jul 18, 2014 11:55 pm

I've used the A-Line it kit many years ago. It's fine, though the indicator itself is a cheapie. With a good indicator (Starrett or Mitutoyo) it would be better. A standard indicator base with magnetic switch does most of the tasks tho, and that's what I've been using for the past few years. I bought a Mitutoyo indicator with base in a fitted case off of EBay.

Another worthwhile investment is an accurate straightedge - 48" long or more. Starrett makes a good one and I think Zoro tools sells them at a good discount.
Chris Pyle
Deshi

Sat Jul 19, 2014 12:53 pm

Would something like this work:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/STARRETT-MAG-BA ... 233d72b9d8

I just purchased a Starrett 36" straight edge and that was pricey for a straight piece of metal but if a 48" is needed as well, I'll be on the lookout.
Chris Hall
Site Admin

Sat Jul 19, 2014 5:38 pm

That Starrett set on Ebay looks good to me.