Hand techniques

Ah, the sharpening. Here's where you can discuss sharpening stones and media, along with sharpening techniques.
AntoineLaMothe
Raw Log Import

Hand techniques

Fri Dec 12, 2014 9:37 am

Hi!
Nice to meet everyone and thanks to M. Hall for the great initiative.

I've been using japanese chisels and planes for about two years now, having some fun, but being frustrated most of the time. I've learned to set-up my kanna pretty well, same goes for chisel handles, thanks to all the great infos on the internet and mostly on the carpentryway blog. The thing I can't seem to get, though, is sharpening. I have a set of 10 large nomi (chu-usu nomi) made from blue steel, two kanna, one basic grade from Stu and an excellent Tsunesaburo blue steel. I just bought a Oouchi white steel anaya-nomi too. While I can sharpen the large kanna and the anaya-nomi almost like I want, since the surface touching the stone is big enough, all of my smaller chisels are victims or heavy rocking.

I heard many people say many different things on the subject, but nothing that helped me get better. Maybe it's just me, but now I'm thinking it might simply be the hand positioning. Would anyone want to share a picture of their successful (or not) sharpening positioning and explain some logic behind them?

I'll shoot mine today and post it after work.

Thanks in advance!
Brian
Deshi

Re: Hand techniques

Fri Dec 12, 2014 9:44 am

Are you opposed to using a guide on small chisels? I use a guide for up to about 1/2" on 1000gt, then freehand the polishing stone.
Chris Pyle
Deshi

Fri Dec 12, 2014 12:03 pm

Didn't Chris say something about this on one of his blog posts? I have no advice, since I'm still a beginner with sharpening as well. I have yet to get a plane blade to stick to the stone. :oops: Embarrassing